Photobucket Photobucket
new || old || profile || cast || rings || links || email || comments || notes || diaryland || fotolog

A real diary entry (2016-04-17)

I've been wanting to write here for the better part of a week, and physical limitations make it harder (at the moment I am typing w/just one finger. including correcting mistakes (and I'm going to keep that lower-case 'i').

But I actually had stuff that I want to record in my diary. So here goes.

(Sitting up so I can use - le gasp! - both hands) Wednesday I finally had my first hydrotherapy appointment. !!! It was great in many ways, very difficult which isn't surprizing. The therapist I got (luck of the draw) is a native English speaker - I think she is Australian. She and I are similar in age, have been in Israel the same amount of time, and chatted so much I didn't put my face in the water when I should have the last time. Need to remember to put the hydrotherapy first next time.

I had such a great time just being in the water. She told me to stop when I was tired, and I kept not noticing until I was too tired. Need to work on that, but she could see I had a problem with that and was very watchful from then on. I can apparently stay in the pool after the session if I want but I was tired enough after the first session I have to see whether or not it seems like a good idea at the time. Much better to come back at another time during the week if possible.

After showering and getting dressed I was all in, which made it one of HaShem's little jokes, I guess, that the car wouldn't go when we made it out into the parking lot. I ended up sitting in the passenger seat - which is dreadful to say the least! - for an hour or more while I waited for Patrick (the guy who does this) to come out from Be'er Sheva, analyse what was wrong, and fix the problem.

It was sitting in that seat that (I believe) brought on the worst spell of the nerve-pain I've had. Howling, crying, pain. So, not good.

Got home, had to be poured into bed. Where I probably would have slept away the 24 hours that my MMF warned me was what she did after hydrotherapy appointments. Except, during the awful period of car trouble, my new AA sponsee (I am in AA and I sponsor people. Which I've probably never explicitly stated before, but I'm tired and don't care anymore) called and said she was coming out and wanted to visit. She lives in Jerusalem, so coming to my tiny corner of the country is an event.

In any case, I dragged myself out of bed, and really enjoyed her visit with her family, sponsee, her husband and 5yo daughter. The daughter rode on one of the donkeys, extremely briefly. She was scared of being so high up on an animal. I talked a little bit with her husband who talked quite a bit more with MY husband - to be expected. It was actually quite lovely, and I slept quite well which is good because

Thursday was first appointment with new acupuncturist. She does Japanese acupuncture, and was quite astonished when I said that (for me) Japanese has a reputation of being more painful than Chinese. I have to say that the insertion of the needles wasn't as bad as the Chinese can be, but once she started using electricity to stimulate the points! Well. But I am better, much less pain and the body is functioning better - all except the left hand, that is.

Don't know whether to credit hydrotherapy, acupuncture or both. I do NOT credit sitting an hour in the sun in the most uncomfortable car seat I've sat in in memory. But, for whatever reason, I did that, too.

Friday I drove with two sons - S1 and S3 - up to Ra'anana, from there to the Rosh HaAyin shuk, back up to Hod HaSharon, and home. Well, S1 drove home, as I sat in that awful seat. *sigh* We bought stuff we can't get down here, as well as goggles and another hair cap for hydrotherapy, since the last one wouldn't stay on my head.

And I had a visit with dil and S2 on the way home, that was about dil asking to move here, HaShem making it work somehow. And she has called just now, I don't know why, so I'm off to find out, as well as to reinstall the system on old desktop (mac mini) which had to have a new hard drive after the old one had a final failure. I will miss the computer I had, but with any luck this one will be as good, if not better. Eventually. A person can hope. ;-)

time || marches || on