Photobucket Photobucket
new || old || profile || cast || rings || links || email || comments || notes || diaryland || fotolog

Bits and pieces (2016-01-18)

Typing is a long, slow slog, so I don't know how much I will get down here, but this feels right.

I went to see the orthoped yesterday, apparently i have three prolapsed disks in my neck. No wonder I'm having problems. Apparently TH got hold of my primary care doctor, who agreed I need physiotherapy at home, and said she would take care of it. Now I get to wait, occasionally nudging her because she doesn't work quickly and forgets things. I wanted to start physiotherapy yesterday. *sigh*

I looked about online today, and learned a lot. The most important thing I learned is not to try and do this by myself. Oy! So I've gotten pretty good at self-diagnosis and self-treatment over the years, and so far the only really big mistake I made was going to the physiotherapist at the M.S. clinic, so I hate having to rely on these people. But it is simply more complicated, at least until I have a lot more knowledge and experience. And too many stories (including mine) of things going from bad to worse when the p.t. isn't right. So I wait, and I worry, and I try not to fret. I trust that Hashem will take care of me one way or another, but I hope that that includes taking away this pronlem with numbness and pain in my left hand. I am really so strongly left-handed that I can hardly function at all, and I am really tired of it.

*sigh*

Outside of that and the weather things are really going better than I could have hoped a week ago. We have a new hot water heater, which I can't use today but means that things like showers should be a lot less hard for the future. Also, we bought a bathtub. I don't know how long it will be before it is installed, because we have to put down new tile on the floor, and also put up new tile on the walls. We have to remove the shower stall, which is built in, and if there is enough money, also knock down the wall between where the bathtub will be and the toilet, making one larger room with both rather than two tiny rooms without room to turn around. It still won't be wheelchair accessible, but it should be more comfortable, and we can heat one large space fairly effectively. Especially if we can get the electricity upgraded. Can we do ti at the same time? A person can hope, but also one must be realistic. It seems very unlikely, but worth trying.

The dog, Chamudah, is growling at the cat Sonny/Sunny. And I am very happy. He is very heavy, and I cannot move him myself, so once he settles on me I am stuck until I call for help. It gets very old. I am sure it isn't good for me in more ways than just the lack of circulation, too. My relationship with Chamudah has gotten better than it used to be, but I honestly look forward to being able to get another dog with whom I can have a closer relationship.

***

Got interrupted enough that that was yesterday. Must go grocery shopping, and hopefully get some treatment for my hand/arm from my favourite practitioner of Chinese medicine, D2. I'll post this, hopefully to be back in less time. A person can hope.

time || marches || on