Photobucket Photobucket
new || old || profile || cast || rings || links || email || comments || notes || diaryland || fotolog

Quiet day with a not-quite-empty house (2015-11-28)

It is very quiet in the house, very quiet, and I am finding it hard to get motivated to write. Here I am.

The problem with the left hand continues, which means that typing problems continue. On the other hand, I am getting much better at driving my van with the joystick, now that that is possible. When I first got the word that I was getting a joystick, I was very excited. George Jetson's flying car has a joystick. Not that my wheelchair van flies...

But anyway, I do drive a futuristic computerized vehicle, and if it doesn't fold down to a briefcase at the touch of a button, or fly, it is still pretty cool. My grandfather, on seeing the circle traffic interchange (which is what the University of Illinois, Chicago used to be named for, it was called the Circle Campus when I went there, showing my age) used to say 'The World of Tomorrow, Today.' That is what I think when I think about driving my wheelchair van using a joystick.

It is far from perfect. I have to use my messed-up left hand to push the buttons for the security code, and there are buttons I simply can't reach while driving. I have to pull over or be stopped at a red light to lower the sun shade or open my window. Annoying, but not life-threatening. I am learning many things.

One of them is that all people who are friendly are not necessarily likeable. I went into Be'er Sheva with my youngest son to buy a necessary adapter for my new laptop, and while there stopped at a bookstore (of course). It occurred to me that I could possibly benefit from some books written in easy Hebrew for adults. It is not such a strange concept, and I've seen them in libraries (borrowed them from libraries) and picked some up at a used bookstore. So I asked the clerk for help finding such.

I don't need to go into details. What I wanted is not unreasonable. What I got is three books for children (not what I was looking for, I have plenty of Hebrew books for children), she argued with me insisting I take some kita aleph book (1st grade) after I told her, AND demonstrated, that I am far beyond 1st grade in my reading and vocabulary. And sold me a store membership without telling me what it cost or even that I was buying it. She asked if I wanted a store card, and what the discount on the books I was buying would be. She didn't tell me that I was paying for the privilege.

*sigh*

All with a big smile and the friendliest attitude. I doubt I will be going back to that store. Fortunately the store is part of a chain, so the store card will not be completely wasted.

Got interrupted, more later.

time || marches || on