Photobucket Photobucket
new || old || profile || cast || rings || links || email || comments || notes || diaryland || fotolog

A relaxing day/This winter (2015-11-22)

Wow, it is Sunday afternoon and there is absolutely nothing stressful going on. Oh, well I'm ignoring the fact that it is cold, I still have a hole in my wall, and I can't shut the door. But that is old stuff, almost normal.

I have no place I have to go and nothing I have to do, so I intend to take a shower and get my hair washed, brush my teeth, trim my nails, and watch an old movie (Stormy Weather) with a couple of my kids. I may get some books catalogued, too.

There is much to do, but for today I am not doing any of it. Just taking it very easy, relaxing, even.

You know I lived in New England, and winters it would go down to below 50F in the house (we heated with wood), and the bathrooms were cold, and it was impossible to get any really hot water. So I know about being cold inside of a house. BUT - we heated with wood, so as soon as someone got a couple of logs in the stove, one could warm oneself quite easily just by standing near it. And we boiled water in the kettle to help warm up bathwater. Showers were limited of course, but all of us have hopped into a cold shower when needs must. I couldn't shower in less than a minute - I had very long hair - but I could come close.

So it isn't that I don't know about living in cold houses in winter. There is something about the quality of the cold here that is really annoying though. It is annoying that when it is already cold outside, it is even colder inside. It is annoying that there is no realistic possibility for warming the house. It is annoying that it is always, always, always damp.

So the hole in my wall is really just an added irritant. And we *could* have hot water if only they would tar the roof of the mamad already, so we could have the new hot water heater installed up there. I know I can survive this kind of winter, heck, I even have my thermal blankets and down comforter.

It just makes me very, very grumbly. *sigh*

time || marches || on