Photobucket Photobucket
new || old || profile || cast || rings || links || email || comments || notes || diaryland || fotolog

Catching up (2015-10-26)

Wow, it's been long enough that the text box has changed its appearance. It's going to take a little bit of getting used to.

I don't want to back up and try to 'catch up,' and I don't remember where I was at when last I used this diary anyway. But a few things need to be said.

My physical condition has deteriorated quite a bit. I was housebound until just a couple of weeks ago when the wheelchair van - much awaited - finally showed up. I've been terribly busy ever since, so I doubt I'll be writing in here with any alarming regularity. I can walk - barely - so most of my time is spent sitting, either in my wheelchair or 'my' chair in the salon or my bed. I still manage to be quite involved in too many things - some things never change.

My relationship with The Husband (TH) has vastly improved. TH has vastly improved. I don't know what caused the change, but I am not complaining. He took to drinking and lost his license, so it is a good thing I finally got the van. Oldest son (S1) was getting really sick of having to drive everyone around, and I was certainly sick of depending on him (not the most dependable, but he did and I am not complaining about that, either).

TH is sober at present. I have enough experience with alcoholism and alcoholics that as soon as his drinking was an issue, I detached from him and let him find his own bottom. Hence the lost license. &tc.

I should say - he changed for the better before his last drink - like so many, alcohol wasn't the problem, but an attempt at a solution.

I don't know if my middle-son (S2) was married, or had even met the girl when I was last writing. DIL is becoming very close to me, while S2 is not talking to me. Go figure. There is a little bad feeling on my side, which I'm sure will pass once S2 pulls his head out of his butt. I trust that he will, DIL seems to have her head on straight for the moment, and she assures me he is getting better.

So it goes.

Youngest daughter is just (six months) out of the army, youngest son is just turned sixteen and studying like mad for his G.E.D., and hopefully (hopefully studying) for his teoria - the written test for the drivers license. He should be hearing from the army in six months give-or-take. Yikes!

Middle daughter (D2) is still working as a Doctor o' Chinese Medicine(tm), doing quite well. She recently turned down a man who - might be all that is admirable but I agreed doesn't seem to be right for her. It was/is hard and we are hoping HaShem sends her a decent man/partner/husband sooner rather than later.

And last of the immediate family, D1 is again pregnant. I am looking forward to a new granddaughter, and hope that i will be able to travel to the states and see her/them sooner rather than later. It has been a while.

My sister has finally stopped bouncing back and forth between continents and hospitals and is settled in a nursing home/rehab in the center of the country, just north of Tel Aviv. She is in a dementia ward, although what that means I decline to guess. Somebody told her (she told me) that she is only in there because there were no other beds available. I have no comment to make. It could be true.

So that is the short wrap up. More than I wanted to write tonight, when all I really wanted to do was babble a bit about the weather, the state of my room (unfinished), and so on. Maybe another time.

time || marches || on